British Crown Green Bowling Association


BCG Ladies Club Championship



Grange Sports & Social, Teltley Walker BC, Monk Sports & Social (Cheshire)

For the first time since before the pandemic, a full complement of sixteen teams took part in the first of two Club Championships being held in 2023.  The county winners from 2022 saw groups 1 and 2 played at Grange Sports & Social Club while Groups 3 and 4 played at Tetley Walker BC.  The semi-finals and final were played at Monk Sports & Social Club.

CASTLE PRIVATE (Cheshire) emerged undefeated from Group 1 to book their place in the semi-finals.  After defeating High Lane (Derbyshire) by 29 in their opening match, Hoylake Central & Melrose (Merseyside) proved tougher opposition and they had Elaine Burgess to thank as her 15-0 card saw her side claim victory with 10 chalks to spare.  They kept up their 100% record with a 16-chalk victory over Victoria Park (South Staffordshire) in which the winning jacks were shared four apiece and they all ended in single-figure victories.

Four-time champions, WROCKWARDINE WOOD (Shropshire), came through Group 2 unscathed with three comfortable victories.  In their opener, they faced the defending champions, New Mill (Yorkshire), claiming six of the eight jacks in a 24-chalk victory.  In round two they scored another 24- chalk victory, this time at the expense of Stretton (Burton & District) with Natalie Connor winning 15-1. They finished their group matches with a 22-chalk victory over Marton Institute (North Lancs & Fylde).

In Group 3, BAMFORD (Lancashire), dominated proceedings following victories over Pensby (Merseyside) by 14, Winnington Park (Mid Cheshire) by 19 and the Castletown ladies who had travelled over from the Isle of Man.  Three bad cards cost the ‘islanders’ a possible semi-final spot, falling short of victory by just 8 chalks.

Following the withdrawal of Coundon (North Midlands), former winners, ST OSWALDS (Cheshire) stepped in at the eleventh hour to ensure Group 4 had a full complement of teams.  And it proved to be a wise decision as, with the other semi-final qualifiers, they too never lost any of their three group matches.  They fought hard to get past Dilhorne (Staffordshire) by 5 and Hall Green (Warwick & Worcester) by 2 to set up a ‘winner takes all’ encounter with Dunlop (Warwick & Worcester) who themselves had beaten the same opponents.  There was just three between the two sides with one game left on the green but Karen Galvin showed her experience to hand in a 15-7 card to give her team an overall 11-chalk success.

In the first semi-final, Castle Private held a 15-chalk advantage at the halfway stage in their match with Wrockwardine Wood, claiming three winning cards – Wendy Allen (15-8), Elaine Burgess (15-9) and Katie Harrop (15-9).  But the former winners hit back strongly in the match’s second half, claiming three winning cards, which included Sarah Weaver (15-0) and Chelsea Gregory (15-3) seeing their side through to the final.

In the other semi-final. St Oswalds were rarely troubled in their 30-chalk success over Bamford.  Beth Kemp (15-1), Margaret Williams (15-2), Louise Wilkins (15-5) and Karen Galvin (15-9) were in top form for the Cheshire side with Natalie Nelson (15-9) the best of Bamford’s three winners.

 The two sides could not be separated after the opening four jacks in the final with Louise Cotton’s 15-6 card cancelling out Karen Galvin’s 15-5 card leaving both sides on 46 chalks.  Jean Wanbon gave St Oswalds the advantage as the second half of the final got underway handing in a timely 21-6 card.  However, it was all in vain as Sarah Weaver romped to a 15-0 success, supported by Holly Bishton (15-3) to ensure Wrockwardine Wood added an impressive fifth title, winning by 17 chalks overall.


History of the BCG Ladies Club Championship


2023     April – Wrockwardine Wood (Shropshire)
2022     New Mill (Yorkshire)
2021     No competition
2020     No competition
2019     Wrockwardine Wood (Shropshire)
2018     Wrockwardine Wood (Shropshire)
2017     Clough Hall (Staffordshire)
2016     New Mill (Yorkshire)
2015     New Mill (Yorkshire)
2014     New Mill (Yorkshire)
2013     Wrockwardine Wood (Shropshire)
2012     Haunchwood (North Warwickshire)
2011     St Oswalds (Cheshire)
2010     Wharton Cons (Mid Cheshire)
2009     AJB Flooring (Yorkshire)
2008     Wrockwardine Wood (Shropshire)
2007     St Oswalds (Cheshire)
2006     Brooklands (Cheshire)
2005     Dilhorne (Staffordshire)
2004     St Oswalds (Cheshire)
2003     Dunrobin (Staffordshire)
SEASON 2021    No Competition
SEASON 2020   No Competition