British Crown Green Bowling Association


BCG Ladies Dorothy Piearce Memorial Pairs


History of the BCG Ladies Dorothy Piearce Memorial Pairs


2021     No competition
2020     No competition
2019     Nicola Boulton & Sue Worrall (Mid Cheshire)
2018     Julie Best & Debora Sturman (Yorkshire)
2017     Lynsey Gorman & Anita Richardson (Merseyside)
2016     Lynsey Gorman & Anita Richardson (Merseyside)
2015     Gill Welsh & Liz Rowley (Staffordshire)
2014     Julie Pearce & Tracy Ryan (Shropshire)
2013     Julie Pearce & Tracy Ryan (Shropshire)
2012     Lynn Fox & Jenny Storer (South Derbyshire)
2011     Karen Galvin & Lesley Smith (Cheshire)
2010     Maggie Barnes & Joan Skidmore (Coventry & District)
2009     Hannah McDonald & Janet Needham (South Derbyshire)
2008     Veronica Lyon & Maureen Lyons (Cheshire)
2007     Angie Insley & Mary Mousley (Burton & District)
2006     Sylvia Bradbury & Charlotte Hough (Cheshire)
2005     Julie Gardner & Lynn Mountford (Wirral)
2004     Helen Clee & Angela Gaut (Shropshire)
2003     Janet Monk & Lilian Slinger (Isle of Man)
2002     Joan Taylforth & Linda Valentine (Cumbria)
2001     Jill Gibbon & Sonia Robson (North Warwickshire)
2000     Helen Clee & Angela Gaut (Shropshire)
1999     Kath Irwin & Zena Mee (Burton & District)
1998     Pat Davies & Jane Jones (Wirral)
1997     Pat Davies & Jane Jones (Wirral)
Scroll down for previous years results




1          Entries for the Dorothy Piearce Memorial Pairs Competition qualifying heat must be made within the player’s own county to which they are affiliated.  Entry fee to BCGLCC £10.00 per pair to be paid at time of entry.  No entry will be accepted without fee.

2          There must be a minimum of eight entries from a County Association in order to get a minimum of one qualifier.

3          The number of finalists from each County will be decided annually by the Competition Secretary. The draw for this competition will be a ‘scattered’ draw.  No substitute pair will be allowed once the draw has been publicised.

4          At no stage of the competition will any competitors be allowed to play on a green of which they are a playing member.  This will apply to either one or both competitors.

5          Each County Association shall be given the opportunity to host the Dorothy Piearce Memorial Pairs.  The Ladies Presidential Rota will apply, with the Pairs final being held in the County of the Deputy President.  Any County not willing to accept the event can decline without question.  In such cases the Management Committee will decide which County will stage the event.

6          The County hosting the final of this competition must not play its heat(s) on the green which is to be used for the final.

7          Any player failing to compete in the final of this competition shall automatically be suspended from entering all competitions run by the Association for a period of not less than 12 months, to take effect from the next AGM, except by valid reason, i.e. medical certificate. Subsequent offences to carry a penalty of three years suspension subject to Management decision.

8          Dress code as laid down in Bye-Law 19 of the Association.

9          All games to be played to the Laws of the Game of Crown Green Bowls as laid down in the BCGBA handbook.

10        The Management Committee will decide on the level of prize monies to be paid to all qualifiers.

11        There will be a start and scratch time, both of which will be the same.  This will be strictly adhered to, apart from exceptional circumstances to be decided by the Management Committee.

12        Any player receiving a bye in this competition shall be entitled to 10 minutes practice on the green on which they would have played their initial heat.